Lydia Artymiw

Lydia Artymiw

Piano 2024

Jury 2024

The recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant and the Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Prize, Philadelphia-born Lydia Artymiw has performed with over one hundred orchestras world-wide including the Auckland Symphony, BBC Northern Symphony, Berlin RIAS Orchestra, Boston Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Detroit Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Minnesota Orchestra, Munich Philharmonic, National Symphony, New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony, San Francisco Symphony, Seattle Symphony, Seoul Philharmonic, Singapore Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, and the St. Luke’s, McGill, and St. Paul Chamber Orchestras, collaborating with such renowned conductors as André Previn, Seiji Ozawa, Osmo Vänskä, Simon Rattle, Stanislaw Skrowaczewksi, Norman del Mar, Alexander Brott, and David Zinman.

She has performed solo recitals in most major American cities, important European music centers, and throughout the Far East. Critics have acclaimed her seven recordings for Chandos, and she has also recorded for Bridge, Centaur, and Naxos. Her debut Chandos “Variations” CD won Gramophone Magazine’s “Best of the Year” award, and her recording of the “Complete Mendelssohn Cello/Piano Works” with cellist Marcy Rosen for Bridge was nominated for a 2018 Grammy. Artymiw has participated in over 50 festivals including Aspen, Badenweiler, Bantry, Bravo! Vail, Caramoor, Chautauqua, Hollywood Bowl, Marlboro, Montréal, Mostly Mozart, RPPF, Seattle, and Tucson. Artymiw has collaborated with renowned artists Yo-Yo Ma, Richard Stoltzman, Arnold Steinhardt, Kim Kashkashian, Benita Valente, John Aler, Marcy Rosen, and the Alexander, American, Borromeo, Cassatt, Guarneri, Miami, Orion, Shanghai, and Tokyo Quartets.

A recipient of top prizes in the 1976 Leventritt and the 1978 Leeds International Competitions, she graduated from Philadelphia’s University of the Arts and studied with Gary Graffman for twelve years. Artymiw was a juror for the 2006 Esther Honens in Calgary, 2015 Cliburn Junior International Piano Competition and Festival, the First China International Competition, Beijing (2019), the 2017 Lang Lang Futian International Piano Competition, the 2022 New York International Piano Competition, the 2023 Charles Wadsworth Competition in Georgia, and the 2024 Gina Bachauer International Competition in Utah. She has also been a juror for twenty piano concerto competitions at Juilliard and has been a guest piano teacher at Juilliard since 2015.

Artymiw was Distinguished McKnight Professor of Piano at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis from 1989-2020 and was awarded Emerita status. She received the 2015 “Excellence in Graduate Teaching” Award and the 2000 Dean’s Medal.

The CMIM thanks the members of the Jury’s circle who contribute to making it possible for the international jury to come to Montreal: Guy Breton, Colabor, Huguette and Jean-Louis Fontaine Foundation, Marie-Carole Pinard, and Marc Vanasse.


Piano 2024 - Tickets

Donate to the CMIM


The Piano 2024 jury is housed at the Ritz-Carlton – Montréal