SooBeen Lee

SooBeen Lee
South Korea

VIOLIN 2023 

Violin 2023

Competitors 2023


LAUREAT – 3rd Prize

Violinist SooBeen Lee has been praised by The Washington Post for her “poised presence, a luxurious sound, spot-on intonation, and a bow arm that will surely be the envy of her peers”. She has already appeared as a soloist with every major Korean orchestra, including the Seoul and Busan Philharmonics and KBS (Korean Broadcasting System) Symphony Orchestra.

First Prize Winner of the 2014 Young Concert Artists International Auditions, she was also honored with YCA’s Slomovic Prize for support for her Washington, DC recital debut, and the Michaels Award, which provided support for her New York recital debut.

SooBeen Lee began studying the violin at the age of four. At eight years old, she won the National Competition of the Korean Chamber Orchestra. Ms. Lee currently studies with Miriam Fried at the New England Conservatory, where she performed the Sibelius Violin Concerto as a winner of their Concerto Competition.


Principal teachers

  • Miriam Fried 2017-present 
  • Nam-Yun Kim 2006-2017 

Major Competitions

  • YCA Slomovic prize and Michaels Award, Young Concert Artists International Audition Winner, 2014  
  • 1st place, David Oistrakh International Violin Competition, Moscow, 2013  
  • 2nd place, Menuhin International Violin Competition, 2012  
  • 1st place, Russia International Youth Violin Competition, 2010 





JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Violin Sonata in E minor, BWV 1023
I. Allegro 
II. Adagio ma non tanto  

CLAUDE DEBUSSY Violin Sonata in G minor
II. Allegro vivio
II. Intermède : fantasque et léger
III. Finale: très animé 

CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 28
I. Allegro malincolico 
II. Allegro ma non troppo 



EUGÈNE YSAŸE Poème élégiaque, Op. 12 

LUNA PEARL WOOLF L’Inconnu.e bouleversant.e 

CÉSAR FRANCK Violin Sonata in A major 
I. Allegretto ben moderato 
II. Allegro 
III. Ben moderato: Recitativo-Fantasia 
IV. Allegretto poco mosso 

JENÖ HUBAY Carmen Fantasie Brillante, Op. 3 No. 3 



PYOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 
I. Allegro moderato 
II. Canzonetto: Andante 
III. Finale: Allegro vivacissimo 



Pianist: Jinhee Park


SooBeen Lee is generously sponsored by Denise et Jean Gagnon. 


Donate to the CMIM