Pavel Vernikov Violin 2019

Pavel Vernikov
Israel-Switzerland

Participating at #CMIM2022

Pavel Vernikov, a student of David Oistrach and Semyon Snitkowsky, established his reputation as virtuoso violinist more than twenty years ago. Among other prizes he won the ARD International Violin Competition in Munich and the Grand Prix at the “Vittorio Gui” International Violin Competition in Florence. He has appeared at such prestigious venues as the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Carnegie Hall and the Kennedy Center in New York, Wigmore Hall in London, La Salle Gaveau in Paris, La Scala in Milan and Santa Cecilia in Rome. 

For the last 30 years he has been a member of the Tchaikovsky Trio. His artistic partners have included Sviatoslav Richter, James Galway, Alain Meunier, Patrick Gallois, Maria Tipo, Natalia Gutman, Oleg Kagan, Yuri Bashmet, Elisso Virsaladze, Krystian Zimerman and Anthony Pay. He founded the Russian Academy of Higher Learning in Portogruaro and was Artistic Director of the Gubbio Summer Festival, the Dubrovnik Chamber Music Festival and the Eilat Chamber Music Festival. 

Pavel Vernikov, teaches and gives masterclasses around the world, in countries including Italy, France, Finland, Spain (Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofia, Madrid), Israel (Rubin Academy) and Germany (Kronberg Academy), and has been invited to be a jury member for many international competitions (Szigeti, Kreisler, Gui, ARD-Competition in Munich, Sendai (Japan), Budapest, Sarasate, Wieniawski etc.). 

Formerly a professor at the Conservatoire national supérieur musique et danse de Lyon, at present he is a professor at the famous Music and Arts University of the City of Vienna and at the Haute Ecole de Musique de Lausanne (Site de Sion). In 2013, he was appointed Artistic Director of the Sion Festival in Switzerland. 

Pavel Vernikov has recorded for RCA, Ondine and Dynamic. He plays the beautiful Giovanni Battista Guadagnini violin, Milano 1751, owned by the family of Tibor Varga. 

Violin 2019  Jury 2021

Pavel Vernikov

Israël/Suisse

Depuis plusieurs décennies, la réputation de violoniste virtuose de Pavel Vernikov n’est plus à faire. Élève de David Oïstrakh et de Semyon Snitkowsky, il a remporté plusieurs grands prix, dont ceux du Concours international de musique de l’ARD à Munich et du Concours international de musique de chambre Vittorio Gui à Florence. Il s’est produit partout sur le globe dans des salles prestigieuses, parmi lesquelles le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, le Carnegie Hall et le Kennedy Center à New York, le Wigmore Hall de Londres, la salle Gaveau à Paris, La Scala de Milan et l’église Santa Cecilia à Rome.

Ces trente dernières années, M. Vernikov a été membre du Trio Tchaïkovski. Il a également joué avec Sviatoslav Richter, James Galway, Alain Meunier, Patrick Gallois, Maria Tipo, Natalia Gutman, Oleg Kagan, Iouri Bachmet, Elisso Virssaladze, Krystian Zimerman et Anthony Pay. Il a fondé l’Académie russe d’études supérieures de Portogruaro et été directeur musical du Festival d’été de Gubbio, du Festival de musique de chambre de Dubrovnik et du Festival de musique de chambre d’Eilat, en Israël.

Pavel Vernikov enseigne et donne des cours de maître partout dans le monde, en Italie, en France, en Finlande, en Espagne à l’École supérieure de musique Reine Sophie de Madrid, en Israël à l’Académie Rubin et en Allemagne à l’Académie Kronberg. Il a également fait partie de nombreux jurys internationaux, ceux notamment des Concours Szigeti, Kreisler, Sarasate, Wieniawski, Vittorio Gui, de l’ARD à Munich, de Sendai au Japon et de Budapest.

Après avoir été professeur au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Lyon, il enseigne aujourd’hui à l’Université pour la musique et les arts de Vienne et à la Haute École de musique de Lausanne; depuis 2013, il est également directeur musical du Festival de Sion, en Suisse.

Pavel Vernikov a enregistré de nombreux disques pour les labels RCA, Ondine et Dynamic. Il joue sur un violon fait par Giovanni Battista Guadagnini à Milan en 1751, propriété de la famille de Tibor Varga.