Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

Participating at #CMIM2022

Kiri Te Kanawa was born in New Zealand, and carries the exotic blood of native Maori aristocracy. She gained legendary status almost overnight after her sensational debut as the Countess in Le Nozze di Figaro at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden in 1971. From then, she moved rapidly into the front rank of international opera as one of the most famous sopranos in the world, mastering a large repertoire from the classics of opera to the art songs, and a great treasury of contemporary popular music. As a soloist at the wedding of HRH Prince Charles and Lady Diana, she faced one of the largest direct telecast audience (600 million) of any singer in history.

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa has performed in leading opera houses of the world – the Metropolitan, the Chicago Lyric Opera, Paris Opera, Sydney Opera House, the Vienna State, La Scala, San Francisco, and Munich – with the world’s major orchestral ensembles under the baton of the most renowned conductors. She has released a number of distinguished recordings including the complete Don Giovanni, Le Nozze di Figaro, Cosí fan Tutte, Die Zauberflöte and Tosca, as well as Mozart concert arias, the Strauss Four Last Songs, and the notably successful Songs of the Auvergne.

She was created a Dame Commander of the British Empire in 1982 and invested into the orders of Australia and New Zealand in 1990 and 1995 respectively. In 2011, she became Patron of the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition. She has received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Classical “Brits” in 2010 and from Gramophone Magazine in 2017. She now devotes her time to teaching and mentoring the next generation of talented young singers.

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

En 1971, au Royal Opera House de Covent Garden, à Londres, une jeune soprano néo-zélandaise d’origine maorie fait sensation dans le rôle de la Comtesse de Le nozze di Figaro et acquiert une célébrité qui ne se démentira pas. Il s’agit de madame Kiri te Kanawa. Dès lors, elle se retrouve propulsée parmi l’élite de l’opéra mondial et devient l’une des chanteuses les plus renommées de son époque. Son domaine s’étend du classique — opéra et mélodies françaises, allemandes et anglaises — à la chanson populaire. En 1981, elle donne l’une des performances les plus célèbres de sa carrière à l’occasion du mariage du Prince Charles et de Lady Diana — elle est suivie par 600 millions de téléspectateurs.

Pendant plus de cinq décennies de carrière, Kiri Te Kanawa a offert sa voix au public des plus prestigieuses salles du monde, dont le Metropolitan Opera, le Chicago Lyric Opera, l’Opéra de Paris, le Sydney Opera House, le Wiener Staatsoper, La Scala, le San Francisco Opera et le Bayerische Staatsoper avec les plus grands orchestres au monde sous la direction de chefs de haute renommée. Sa discographie est tout aussi impressionnante, la chanteuse ayant enregistré les opéras de Don Giovanni, Le nozze di Figaro, Cosí fan tutte, Die Zauberflöte et Tosca, ainsi que les airs d’arias de concert de Mozart, les Vier letzte Lieder de Strauss et le remarquable Chants d’Auvergne du compositeur Canteloube, qui figure au palmarès britannique.

Couverte d’honneurs, Dame Kiri est anoblie par la reine en 1982 et reçoit en outre les principales décorations d’Australie en 1990 et de Nouvelle-Zélande en 1995. Elle devient patronne d’honneur de la compétition BBC Cardiff Singer of the World en 2011. Elle reçoit un prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations de Classical « Brits » en 2010 et du magazine Gramophone en 2017. Aujourd’hui, elle se consacre désormais à l’enseignement et au mentorat de jeunes chanteurs de talent.