Minsoo Sohn

Minsoo Sohn
South Korea

Piano 2024

Jury 2024

 

Minsoo Sohn is a Korean-American pianist known for his musical intelligence and masterful virtuosity. Described by The New York Times as “a genuine artist, with a thoughtful and poetic interpretation” and the Boston Globe as “born to play the piano,” Sohn continues to expand his reputation as one of the foremost pianists of his day. Sohn has toured extensively throughout North and South America, Europe, Israel and Korea, and has appeared in important venues and festivals. 

Sohn is particularly noted for his interpretation of Bach’s Goldberg Variations, and The New York Times praised his Honens-label recording of the work as a “beautifully articulated, radiant interpretation,” placing it one of the top classical recordings of 2011. His recordings also received critical acclaim by The New Yorker, Cleveland Plain Dealer, Gramophone, Calgary Herald, and Toronto Star, among others. 

In 2020, coinciding with the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, Mr. Sohn concluded his four-year immersion in the composer’s music, which has included concert series, recordings and writings. Over the course of his Beethoven project, Mr. Sohn performed and recorded the composer’s thirty-two sonatas in series of recitals at Seoul Arts Center and recording sessions at Tongyeong Concert Hall. The recital series also included Beethoven’s monumental Diabelli Variations and Bagatelles. Sony Classical released the highly anticipated nine-album set of “Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas” in the Fall of 2020. 

He held positions at Michigan State University and Korean National University of Arts before joining his alma mater, New England Conservatory, in Fall 2023. 

Minsoo Sohn is indebted to Russell Sherman and Wha Kyung Byun for guiding him to follow his bliss. 

 

Piano 2024 - Tickets

Donate to the CMIM

 

The Piano 2024 jury is housed at the Ritz-Carlton – Montréal

Minsoo Sohn

Minsoo Sohn
Corée du Sud

Piano 2024

Jury 2024

Minsoo Sohn est un pianiste coréen-américain connu pour son intelligence musicale et sa magistrale virtuosité. Décrit par le New York Times comme « un véritable artiste, doté d’une interprétation réfléchie et poétique » et par le Boston Globe comme étant « né pour jouer du piano », Minsoo Sohn continue d’élargir sa réputation en tant que l’un des plus grands pianistes de son époque. Il a effectué de nombreuses tournées en Amérique du Nord et du Sud, en Europe, en Israël et en Corée, et s’est produit dans des salles et des festivals importants. 

Minsoo Sohn est particulièrement connu pour son interprétation des Variations Goldberg de Bach, et le New York Times a salué son enregistrement de l’œuvre sous label Honens comme une « interprétation magnifiquement articulée et rayonnante », le plaçant parmi les meilleurs enregistrements classiques de 2011. Ses enregistrements ont également reçu des critiques élogieuses du New Yorker, du Cleveland Plain Dealer, du Gramophone, du Calgary Herald et du Toronto Star entre autres. 

En 2020, coïncidant avec le 250e anniversaire de la naissance de Beethoven, Minsoo Sohn a terminé ses quatre années d’immersion dans la musique du compositeur, qui ont inclus des séries de concerts, des enregistrements et des écrits. Durant cette immersion dans l’œuvre de Beethoven, Minsoo Sohn a interprété et enregistré les trente-deux sonates du compositeur lors de séries de récitals au Centre des Arts de Séoul et de séances d’enregistrement au Tongyeong Concert Hall. La série de récitals comprenait également les monumentales Variations Diabelli et Bagatelles de Beethoven. Sony Classical a fait paraître le très attendu ensemble de neuf albums Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas à l’automne 2020. 

Minsoo Sohn a occupé des postes à la Michigan State University et à la Korean National University of Arts, avant de rejoindre son alma mater, le New England Conservatory, à l’automne 2023.

Minsoo Sohn est redevable à Russell Sherman et Wha Kyung Byun de l’avoir guidé vers son bonheur.

 

 

Donnez au CMIM