Kim Kashkashian

Kim Kashkashian
United States

Participating at #CMIM2022

Hailed as “an artist who combines a probing, restless intellect with enormous beauty of tone,” Kim Kashkashian’s work as performing and recording artist and pedagogue has been recognized worldwide. She won a Grammy Award for her recording of Ligeti and Kurtag solo viola works in 2013, and received the George Peabody Medal and Switzerland’s Golden Bow Award for her contributions to music. In 2016, she was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

As soloist Kashkashian has appeared with the orchestras of Berlin, London, Vienna, Milan, New York and Cleveland in collaboration with Eschenbach, Mehta, Welser-Moest, Kocsis, Dennis Russel Davies, Blomstedt, and Holliger. Recital appearances include the great halls of Vienna, Rome, Paris, Berlin, Munich, Tokyo, Athens, London, New York, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco and Philadelphia, and she is a regular participant at the Verbier, Salzburg, Lockenhaus, Marlboro, and Ravinia festivals.  

Kashkashian has forged creative relationships with the world’s leading composers—including György Kurtág, Krzysztof Penderecki, Alfred Schnittke, Giya Kancheli, and Arvo Pärt, and her long association with the ECM label has yielded a discography that has garnered an abundance of praise and international awards.

Kashkashian, who studied with Karen Tuttle and Walter Trampler at Baltimore’s Peabody Conservatory and Felix Galimir at Vermont’s Marlboro Festival has held teaching positions at Indiana University, the Freiburg Hochschule für Musik, and the Hans Eisler Hochschule of Berlin.  Currently, Kashkashian makes her home in Boston where she coaches chamber music and viola at New England Conservatory of Music.

Kashkashian is Founder and Artistic Director of “Music for Food” a musician-led hunger relief initiative that to date has presented hundreds of artists in concert which have created more than 500,000 free meals for people in need.

Kim Kashkashian

États-Unis

Acclamée pour la rigueur sans faille de son jeu autant que pour la beauté de son timbre, l’altiste Kim Kashkashian s’est forgé de par le monde une solide réputation tant pour ses prestations et ses enregistrements que pour son travail pédagogique. Elle a gagné en 2013 un Grammy pour son disque des œuvres pour alto seul de Ligeti et de Kurtág, puis s’est vu décerner la Médaille George Peabody et le Prix Golden Bow pour sa contribution au monde de la musique. En 2016, elle a été nommée membre de l’American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Mme Kashkashian a joué en soliste avec divers orchestres de Berlin, Londres, Vienne, Milan, New York et Cleveland, sous la direction de chefs tels qu’Eschenbach, Mehta, Welser-Moest, Kocsis, Dennis Russel Davies, Blomstedt et Holliger. Elle a donné de nombreux récitals dans les salles les plus prestigieuses de Vienne, Rome, Paris, Berlin, Munich, Tokyo, Athènes, Londres, New York, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco et Philadelphie, sans oublier ses participations aux Festivals de Verbier, Salzbourg, Lockenhaus, Marlboro et Ravina.

Kim Kashkashian a tissé de forts liens avec les plus influents compositeurs contemporains, parmi lesquels György Kurtág, Krzysztof Penderecki, Alfred Schnittke, Guia Kantcheli et Arvo Pärt. Elle enregistre depuis longtemps pour la maison ECM et ses disques ont récolté nombre d’éloges et de prix internationaux.

Mme Kashkashian a étudié avec Karen Tuttle et Walter Trampler au Peabody Conservatory de Baltimore ainsi qu’avec Felix Galimir au Festival de Marlboro, au Vermont. Elle a enseigné à l’Université d’Indiana, à la Hochschule für Musik de Fribourg et à la Hans Eisler Hochschule de Berlin. Aujourd’hui domiciliée à Boston, elle enseigne l’alto et dirige des classes de musique de chambre au New England Conservatory of Music.

En 2010, elle a fondé Music for Food, dont elle assume depuis la direction musicale. Cet organisme humanitaire, géré par des musiciens, vise à combattre la faim; il a déjà donné de très nombreux concerts-bénéfice impliquant des centaines d’interprètes, ce qui lui a permis de distribuer jusqu’à maintenant plus de 500 000 repas à des personnes dans le besoin.