Boris Kuschnir Violin 2019

Boris Kuschnir
Austria

Participating at #CMIM2022

Boris Kuschnir was born in Kiev in 1948 and studied violin at the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory with Boris Belenky and chamber music with Valentin Berlinsky, of the Borodin Quartet. His many encounters with Dmitri Shostakovich and David Oistrakh, with whom he also studied, have had a lasting influence on his artistic development. 

He has performed as a soloist and a chamber musician in some of the world’s most illustrious venues: Musikverein in Vienna, Teatro alla Scala in Milan, La Fenice in Venice, Wigmore Hall in London, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Berlin Philharmonie, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, as well as in the Tchaikovsky Conservatoire in Moscow and the Ishibashi Memorial Hall in Tokyo. He has participated in numerous international festivals such as Salzburger Festspiele, Gidon Kremer’s Lockenhaus Festival, Wiener Festwochen, Besançon, Washington, Spoleto, Naples, Stresa, Bregenzer Festspiele, Sviatoslav Richter Winter Festival in Moscow, and Verbier Festival in Switzerland.  

He won numerous prizes at international violin and chamber music competitions in Paris, Belgrade, Sion, Bratislava, Florence, Trieste, and Hamburg. He has given master classes and served as a jury member of renowned international competitions including the Tchaikovsky, Queen Elisabeth, Nicolò Paganini, Tibor Varga, Michael Hill, and Eurovision. 

Both as a soloist and chamber musician, Boris Kuschnir has made numerous recordings, most notably the complete Mozart piano trios (EMI) and Schumann’s complete works for piano trio (Naxos). 

In 1982, he became an Austrian citizen, and, since 1984, has been Professor at the Vienna Conservatory. In 1999, he was also appointed University Professor at the Music University of Graz. Boris Kuschnir plays a violin made by Antonio Stradivari, Cremone, 1703, the “La Rouse-Boughton,” on loan from the Austrian National Bank in recognition of his artistic performance and his service rendered to music.

Boris Kuschnir

Autriche

Boris Kuschnir est né à Kiev en 1948. Il a étudié le violon au Conservatoire Tchaïkovski de Moscou avec Boris Belenki et la musique de chambre avec Valentin Berlinsky, membre du Quatuor Borodine. Ses fréquentes rencontres avec Chostakovitch et David Oïstrakh, qui compte aussi parmi ses maîtres, ont été déterminantes pour son développement artistique.

Kuschnir s’est produit tant en récital qu’en musique de chambre dans les salles les plus prestigieuses du globe : le Musikverein de Vienne, le Teatro alla Scala à Milan, La Fenice à Venise, le Wigmore Hall de Londres, le Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, la Philharmonie de Berlin, le Théâtre des Champs-Élysées à Paris, le Conservatoire Tchaïkovski de Moscou et la Salle commémorative Ishibashi de Tokyo. On a pu l’entendre lors de nombreux festivals internationaux, dont ceux de Salzbourg, Lockenhaus, organisé par Gidon Kremer, Vienne, Besançon, Washington, Spolète, Naples, Stresa, Bregenz, Verbier, ainsi qu’au Festival d’hiver Sviatoslav Richter à Moscou.

Boris Kuschnir s’est vu décerner de nombreuses distinctions dans divers concours internationaux de violon et de musique de chambre tenus à Paris, Belgrade, Sion, Bratislava, Florence, Trieste et Hambourg. Il a donné nombre de cours de maître et participé aux jurys de prestigieux concours internationaux, parmi lesquels les Tchaïkovski, Reine Élisabeth, Nicolò Paganini, Tibor Varga, Michael Hill et Eurovision.

Tant en soliste que comme chambriste, M. Kuschnir a plusieurs disques à son actif, notamment les enregistrements de l’intégrale des Trios avec piano de Mozart, sous étiquette EMI, et de celle des œuvres pour piano, violon et violoncelle de Schumann, sous étiquette Naxos.

Kuschnir est citoyen autrichien depuis 1982. Il enseigne au Conservatoire de Vienne depuis 1984 et au Département de musique de l’Université de Graz depuis 1999. Il joue sur le violon La Rouse-Boughton, fait par Antonio Stradivari à Crémone en 1703, que lui prête aimablement la Banque nationale d’Autriche en raison de ses accomplissements artistiques et de sa contribution au monde de la musique.