Barry Shiffman

Barry Shiffman
Canada

Participating at #CMIM2022

Internationally acclaimed violinist and violist Barry Shiffman is a musician, educator, and administrator. He was co-founder of the St. Lawrence String Quartet (SLSQ) and currently serves as both the Associate Dean and Director of Chamber Music at the Glenn Gould School, and Dean of the Phil and Eli Taylor Performance Academy for Young Artists at The Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto.  

During his 17 years with the SLSQ he appeared in over 2,000 concerts in venues around the globe, and recorded several critically acclaimed discs under an exclusive contract with EMI Classics. While in SLSQ, Shiffman served as artist-in residence at Stanford University from 1998 to 2006 and as visiting artist at the University of Toronto from 1995 to 2006. He has also served in numerous roles at Banff Centre, including Director of Music Programs (2006-2010), Artistic Director of the Centre’s Summer Classical Music Programs (2010- 2016), and Executive Director of the Banff International String Quartet Competition since 2006.  

From 2009-2017, he was Executive Artistic Director of Music in the Morning Concert Society in Vancouver, concluding his role for the organization by directing a new summer chamber music festival that attracted capacity audiences for all events. A sought-after juror, he has served on the violin jury of the Tchaikovsky and Montreal violin competitions, and the String Quartet Competitions of London Wigmore Hall, Lyon, and Geneva. In 2018 he began his new appointment as Artistic Director of Rockport Music in Massachusetts, overseeing all classical programming for the organization including a five-week summer chamber music festival.  

He received his formal studies at the Royal Conservatory in Toronto, University of Toronto, Utrecht Conservatory, Hartt School of Music, Juilliard School, and Yale University. Summer studies included Banff Centre, Tanglewood, and Aspen. Barry Shiffman is the recipient of the Longy School of Music’s Nadia Boulanger Prize for Excellence in the Art of Teaching, and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Calgary.

Barry Shiffman

Canada

Barry Shiffman est réputé partout sur le globe comme violoniste et comme altiste, mais il est aussi un pédagogue et un administrateur remarquable. Il a cofondé le en 1989 Quatuor à cordes St. Lawrence (QCSL); il est actuellement vice-doyen de la Glenn Gould School à Toronto et directeur de son Département de musique de chambre ainsi que doyen de la Phil and Eli Taylor Performance Academy for Young Artists du Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto.

Au cours de ses dix-sept ans au sein du QCSL, il a participé à plus de 2 000 concerts dans les plus grandes salles du monde et enregistré, sous contrat exclusif avec la maison EMI Classics, plusieurs disques louangés par la critique. Comme membre du QCSL, M. Shiffman a été musicien en résidence à l’Université Stanford de 1998 à 2006 et musicien invité à l’Université de Toronto de 1995 à 2006. Il a également occupé plusieurs fonctions au Banff Centre, dont celles de directeur de la programmation de 2006 à 2010 et de directeur musical des Summer Classical Programs de 2010 à 2016; il y est depuis 2006 directeur administratif du Concours international de quatuor à cordes.

De 2009 à 2017, M. Shiffman a été directeur musical exécutif de la Music in the Morning Concert Society à Vancouver, collaboration qui s’est terminée par la mise sur pied d’un nouveau festival d’été de musique de chambre qui a aussitôt rempli ses salles. Très apprécié comme juré, il a été membre des jurys des Concours de violon Tchaïkovski et de Montréal ainsi que des Concours de quatuor à cordes du Wigmore Hall de Londres, de Lyon et de Genève. Depuis 2018, il assume la direction musicale de Rockport Music au Massachusetts, supervisant sa programmation classique, y compris celle d’un festival d’été de musique de chambre étalé sur cinq semaines.

Shiffman a étudié au Conservatoire royal de Toronto, à l’Université de Toronto, au Conservatoire d’Utrecht, à la Hartt School of Music, à la Juilliard School et à l’Université Yale. Il a suivi des stages d’été au Banff Centre, à Tanglewood et à Aspen. Il a reçu le Prix Nadia Boulanger de la Longy School of Music et un doctorat honoris causa de l’Université de Calgary.