Spokesperson 2017

MESSAGE FROM ROBERT CHARLEBOIS, CMIM 2017 SPOKESPERSON

It is with great joy that I have joined forces with the CMIM as its spokesman this year. My goal? To share with you all my passion for music and to help showcase the talent of these young virtuoso pianists from around the world.

To me, the piano is the king of instruments. My first contact with a piano was at my uncle’s place, a chocolate-maker married to an English woman and had a grand piano in his living room. I must have been around 4 or 5 years old. I used to scare myself by hitting low notes, wondering where all these ghost sounds could be coming from. While I adore the instrument, I never considered myself to be a pianist since I am more of an accompanist who swats hard at the keys and makes a show of it. But I have nothing but the greatest respect for virtuoso pianists, those who really know how to control a piano, mastering all of the nuances, all of the subtleties!

When music is beautiful—be it rock, jazz, or classical—, I am always there. And I am happy this year to join these young pianists, who have devoted their lives and all of their energy to getting ready to participate in a competition such as this. This is like the Olympic Games for them. They demonstrate extraordinary discipline and perseverance, and prove that music is truly a universal language. Fans of sleight of hand, you who appreciate fingers that are quicker than the eye and ear, I invite you to come out in great numbers to encourage and applaud our artists.

Long live the CMIM!

Porte-parole 2017

MESSAGE DE ROBERT CHARLEBOIS, PORTE-PAROLE DU CMIM 2017

C’est avec joie que je me joins au Concours musical international de Montréal à titre de porte-parole. Mon but? Partager avec vous tous ma passion pour la musique et vous faire découvrir le talent de ces jeunes pianistes virtuoses venus de partout dans le monde.

Pour moi, le piano est le roi des instruments. Mon premier contact avec le piano a eu lieu chez mon oncle, un chocolatier qui avait épousé une Anglaise et qui avait un piano à queue dans son salon. Je devais avoir 4 ou 5 ans. Je me faisais peur en tapant sur les notes graves et je me demandais d’où pouvaient sortir tous ces fantômes. Bien que j’adore cet instrument, je ne me considérerai jamais comme un pianiste car je suis plutôt un pianiste d’accompagnement qui peut piocher fort et faire de l’esbroufe. Mais j’ai le plus grand respect pour les pianistes virtuoses, ceux qui savent vraiment contrôler un piano, et en maîtriser toutes les nuances, toutes les subtilités!

Quand la musique est belle, peu importe que ce soit du rock, du jazz ou du classique, je suis toujours là. Et je suis heureux de m’associer cette année à ces jeunes pianistes, qui consacrent leur vie et toute leur énergie pour se préparer à participer à un concours comme celui-ci. L’équivalent des jeux Olympiques pour eux. Ils font la démonstration d’une discipline et d’une persévérance extraordinaire, et font la preuve que la musique est vraiment un langage universel. Amateur de magie, qui aimez les doigts plus rapides que l’œil et l’oreille, je vous invite à venir en grand nombre pour les encourager et les applaudir. 

Longue vie au CMIM!