Arisa Onoda

Arisa Onoda

City of residence : Boston

Piano 2024

Competitors 2024



Born in Japan, Arisa began playing the piano at the age of 2 and the violin at 6. After studying at the Juilliard School under Choong Mo Kang, she moved to London and earned Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees at the Royal Academy of Music under Christopher Elton, and, in 2021, completed an Advanced Diploma. In 2022, she moved to Boston and is currently pursuing further studies under professor Dang Thai Son at the New England Conservatory.

Arisa has performed in more than a dozen major international competitions such as the Geneva competition in 2014, Chopin competition in 2015 in Warsaw, Busoni competition in 2017, and New Orleans competition in 2018. She became a medalist and a Gorodnitzki memorial prize winner at the Hilton Head International Piano Competition in 2019, and was awarded the 1st prize and the Best Chopin award at the International Juliusz Zarebski Music Competition in 2020. Most recently, she won the Ita Stephen Beethoven Prize at the Dublin International Piano Competition in 2022.

Arisa is supported by Philharmonia Orchestra/the Martin Music Scholarship Fund, Help Musicians UK, Hattori Foundation, Rohm Music Foundation, and the Agency for Cultural Affairs in Japan.


Principal teachers 

  • Dang Thai Son (2021-Currently)
  • Christopher Elton (2014-2021)
  • Choong Mo Kang (2012-2014) 

Major Competitions  

  • Beethoven Prize, Dublin International Piano Competition, 2022
  • 1st prize and Best Chopin Award, International Juliusz Zarebski Music Competition, 2020 
  • Medalist, Hilton Head International Piano Competition, 2019
  • 3rd prize, International Chopin Piano Competition in Budapest, 2018 





Johann Sebastian Bach / Ferruccio Busoni
Chaconne from Partita No. 2 for violon, BWV 1004 

Frédéric Chopin
Barcarolle in F-sharp major, Op. 60 

Maurice Ravel
No. 1 Noctuelles • No. 4 Alborada del gracioso  



Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15
Allegro molto moderato 



Joseph Haydn
Sonata in G major, Hob. XVI:40
Allegretto innocentemente • Presto 

Barbara Assiginaak
Mzizaakok Miiniwaa Mzizaakoonsak (Horseflies and Deerflies) 

Igor Stravinsky / Guido Agosti
L’Oiseau de feu (The Firebird)
Danse infernale • Berceuse • Finale 

Frédéric Chopin
Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58
Allegro maestoso • Scherzo (Molto vivace) • Largo • Finale (Presto non tanto) 


Adopt a Musician
The presence of Arisa Onoda in Montreal
is generously supported by Pierre Michel D’Anglade et Amalia de St-Louvent



Buy your tickets !

Donate to the CMIM